Signs of the Zodiac: Libra in Astrology

Libra is the only zodiac sign named after an inanimate object. Libra means scales in Latin. Even the glyph used for this zodiac sign in astrology looks like a scale. And it describes very well the people who have some important placements in Libra in their natal chart. They always strive to find a balance and make sure that both parties are equally happy in a relationship. Libra is the sign of peace, after all. 
In astrology, Libra is ruled by the planet of love and beauty, Venus. Librans (not to be interchanged with Librarians – yes, it’s funny) are charming people with good social skills and a fabulous taste. Many Libras are drawn to the arts and plenty of them are very talented in this field, too.
During the year, Libra ranges from 23rd of September to 22nd October when it’s time for Scorpio to take over. Libra is a cardinal sign in astrology, it marks the beginning of autumn and the time of harvest during the year.
In the human body, Libra rules the lower back, kidneys, adrenal glands and the appendix. Libra rules the seventh house of relationships in the natural chart.

Libra Element and Quality in Astrology

Libra is a cardinal air sign in astrology. Air signs include Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius. They are focused on communication, enjoy socializing and like to rationalize everything. They live on a rather mental level, thinking is very important to them as they have strong analytical skills. Air signs have a creative and freedom-seeking touch to them.
By modality, Libra is a cardinal sign, along with Aries, Cancer, and Capricorn. They mark the beginnings of a new season, so no wonder that they are initiators and like change. Libra’s way of starting change is by talking and verbal action taking. Cardinal signs are enthusiastic and ambitious, but their negative side is a tendency toward impulsiveness and haste. 

When is Libra Strong in Your Natal Chart

The position of the Sun, Moon and ascendant are very important in the natal chart. If you have one of them in Libra, this zodiac sign describes you in a great amount.
Natives who have many planets in Libra in their charts can also identify with this sign. If your Sun is in the seventh house, no matter in which sign it is, it will have some Libran qualities.

Positive Traits of Libra in Astrology

Ruled by Venus, Librans are often good-looking. Plus they have an innate sense of beauty which definitely helps them to be physically attractive. They have a good taste. 
Libra people like to make everything beautiful around them. In many professions where aesthetics are important Libras are present in a high percentage. Most artists have Libra or Taurus emphasized in their charts and a prominent Venus is another indicator of artistic talent.
Another strong trait of these natives is their need for harmony in relationships. Libras love being around others, they need socializing like they need water and food. Of course, everyone needs to fulfill their social needs to some extent, but multiply this with 100 and you’ll get a Libra.
Libras are charming and graceful. These qualities usually made them popular and liked in any group. They have an increased awareness of other’s needs and do their best to make sure that everyone is happy. They love to share and do so selflessly. 
Libra people have excellent communication skills and their verbal side is well-developed. They strive for harmony, both in the physical world and in their relationships. Their sense of tact and diplomatic nature is a talent for soothing conflicts. Libras are peace-loving and cooperative. This is one of their weak points at the same time because they often don’t know to stand up for themselves.
Libras find it easy to see things through other’s eyes which helps them to be fair-minded. They strive to create win-win situations and make sure that both parties feel that the problem is solved in a fair way. Justice is very important for them. Libras don’t like to upset anyone and they are very gentle.
Judicial is a word that describes Libra natives very well. Everything related to law is another typical Libran profession. Venus, Libra’s ruling planet rules legal affairs and contracts in astrology. A well-aspected seventh house gives luck in court and legal matters.
Signs of the Zodiac: Libra in Astrology

Negative Traits of Libra in Astrology

Libras hate being alone. This makes them very vulnerable because they sometimes tolerate things they really shouldn’t just to make sure that the other person won’t leave them. For these people, it’s important to learn to be assertive. Make sure that your needs are met, too.
Being so gentle and cooperative, Libras are torn by conflicts and they are ready to do anything just to conserve peace. They can’t operate in a hostile environment with an aggressive atmosphere. Libra is the opposite of Aries, who isn’t afraid of confrontations if that’s the way to get what they want.
 Libra really dislikes this approach and uses tact and diplomacy to achieve their goals. They can’t stand violence, harsh behavior, and loudmouth. In this world with so many different people, conflicts are an inevitable part of life. Libra people need to accept this and learn how to stand up for themselves and their views. 
Because they spend so much time with other people, they notice a lot of what is going on. These natives are prone to gossiping and inquiry. Sometimes they are selfish and self-centered.
Libras love to surround themselves with beauty and luxury. They enjoy aesthetics and sometimes even spend too much money on things they couldn’t in fact afford. Their financial judgment often needs to be improved.
Libra people find it very hard to make decisions. They ponder on the options for a long time and have trouble making up their mind. Since other people have a big influence over them, they are easily deterred and value other people’s opinions much more than they should. Or at least, they need to learn to value their own opinion, too.
Read more:

Leave a Comment